Yerba Buena Lodge History (Established 2021)

Yerba Buena Lodge 719 was formed on January 1, 2021 by the merger of three Order of the Arrow lodges (Achewon Nimat Lodge 282, Kaweah Lodge 379, and Ut-in Selica Lodge 58). Almost six months earlier, the Alameda Council, Mt. Diablo Silverado Council, and the San Francisco Bay Area Council would merge their membership to create the Golden Gate Area Council.   The lodge number selected by the youth is a combination of the three lodges that merged (58 + 282 + 379).  In that way, a piece of each lodge number will always be a part of the new combined lodge.

The roots of Yerba Buena Lodge go back to 1944 when the Order of the Arrow was established in the Bay Area.  Yerba Buena is composed of seven Lodges from various Scout councils that have merged over the years (Swegedaigea Lodge #263 established 1944; Royaneh Lodge #282 established 1944; Machek N’Gult Lodge #375 established 1947; Oo Yum Buli Lodge #468 established 1952; Achewon Nimat Lodge #282 established 1965; and Ut-in Selica Lodge #58 established 1993). Only Kaweah Lodge #379 from Alameda was not involved in any prior merger. The image below displays the merger history of the various councils and Order of the Arrow lodges of Yerba Buena.

Skip to content